Reading Habits

A meme is going round (and round and round…), and I take the bait. Found here and on many other places.

1: Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

If I have time and can make myself comfortable for more than a few minutes, it’s either the bed or the couch.

2: Bookmark or a random piece of paper?

I do have bookmarks, dozens of them, they’re beautiful, often precious gifts from other book lovers and undoubtedly the only appropriate way to mark my progress in a book. Unfortunately, they’re also stashed away in a pretty little box, and so I usually take what I can grab first – a torn snippet from the newspaper, shopping lists, chewing gum wrappers.

3: Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, etc.?

Depends on the book, of course. My boss always knows when I couldn’t find an end and read through the night. But when reason prevails, I stop at least at the end of a chapter or a scene. I don’t wanna have to search where to start over again.

4: Do you eat or drink while reading?

Eat not so much, but I have nearly always a pot of tea nearby. Or a glass of port.

5: Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?

No. I need quiet, or at least no noise that could distract me, especially TV running in the background drives me insane. It’s the same for writing or any occupation I need my brain for.

6: One book at a time, or several at once?

Several, but not more than three. I always have a book on my phone for all those precious minutes during the day I’d do nothing with otherwise (coffee break at work, the queue at the supermarket, bus rides etc.). On my night-table are lying real books, though.

7: Reading at home or everywhere?

Everywhere. Had this habit since the age of 4. I never go anywhere without something to read and a notebook.

8: Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently, unless it’s a language I’m really bad at. Then “hearing” the words (even if it’s just in my head) helps.

9: Do you read ahead or skip pages?

Seldom. I try to avoid it, mostly because I’m always afraid to miss something important. If a book makes me wanna skip passages more than once, I usually ditch the whole story.

10: Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

When a book is read, it may show. I try to be careful with my books, but a broken spine, a coffee stain or a dog-ear don’t make me go ballistic, as long as the pages are still in the correct order.

11: Do you write in books?

Yep. Shamelessly. Only in my own, of course, and not in my gold-plated luxury edition of Shakespeare’s oeuvre, but every paperback that comes into my possession has to be ready to have its wordcount increased. And I love to get my hands on used books where others have left their remarks.

Leave a Reply

