RSS: Please Provide your Feed!

RSS-IconDear fellow bloggers,

I have a request: please provide a link to your RSS-feed.

We all want to connect. We all want to get as many readers as possible. And believe it or not, but there are those of us who are oldschooled. It’s awesome that I can add you on facebook, twitter, google+, bloglovin’, gravatar, via e-mail, on youtube or wherever. The thing is: I won’t. All these services are awesome, and I will never use them to connect with your blog. And I know I’m not the only one.

For the purpose to bring the content I want to read to my monitor, they all just try to invent the wheel anew, and usually it’s far more angular than the original.

If I want to be social and connect with you, I will come to your blog and read your article, admire your blog-design, share, like, backlink and comment. Of course, only as long as I find it – and if I don’t find it in my RSS-reader, well… a pity.

The WordPress reader is a PITA all in itself, especially with the newest updates that allow to read full entries without a siteview. I use it rarely and only if I have to, and that’s why I probably miss a ton of entries.

Of course, if I only subscribe to your feed, I won’t show up as a new follower. It’s not much more than a bookmark, after all. But if I RSS-subscribe, I will usually click the “follow”-button as well just to let you know that you have a new reader.

I love my RSS-reader to death. It’s neat, tidy, organised, sorted and sortable. It shows me at a glance what’s new and if I wanna read it. It’s one of the most basic technologies on the net, it’s easy and ancient and works flawlessly.

Of course it’s not hard to get the RSS-link from a random WordPress blog, but honestly, I’m tired of it. It’s not hard to add that tiny, simple widget to your sidebar, and I have honestly no idea why so many themes don’t have it added per default.

Perhaps they think it’s outdated and superfluous, now that we have all the “modern” solutions of social networking where I need another account and another password, get more ads “that could interest me” (no, they don’t!) than the actual content I subscribed to and have my e-mail-address sold to obscure marketing databases for additional profit.

Surprise: it’s not.

About the RSS-Widget.

Rant over ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “RSS: Please Provide your Feed!

Leave a Reply

